Race Management Committee

Bob Ebenau (Race Committee)
Bill Palafox (Sonar One-Design)
John Trainor (PHRF Racing)

Contact Race Management Committee
CBRA Chart for 2018 with racing marks
The ISAF Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-2020 (PDF)

on the
Wart & for Day Race & Moonlight Regatta
2018 Race Committee Dates
May 12
June 2 (Day Race from Execution)
June 9-10
June 23-24
July 14-15
July 28-29
August 25 (Moonlight Regatta)
Sept 15-16



2018 Racing Calendar

Open Regattas
(Open to All Clubs)

29th Annual NSYC Day Race* Saturday June 2 Full crew, racing start. Open to all clubs. Start at Can 1 off Execution Light
Freedom Cup Awarded to the best performing boat in the 2-handed division in the NSYC Open Regatta
Ostling Cup Best performance by a NSYC member in the Cruising Canvas Division in the NSYC Open Regatta
Reiman Trophy Best performance by a NSYC racing boat in any division except Cruising Canvas in the NSYC Open Regatta
17th Annual Moonlight Regatta* Saturday, August 25 Full crew, racing start. Open to all clubs and invited guests. Start and finish in Manhasset Bay

2018 NSYC Club Race Series
(Open to NSYC Boats Only)

Snyder Cup Sat, June 9 Non-spinnaker race combined with a Target Cruise. See Notice of Race and Race Instructions when they are issued.
2018 Snyder Cup Results
Epstein Trophy* Sun, June 24 Single-handed with”safety officer” permitted, cruising start
2018 Epstein Trophy Results
Borden Cup* Sun, July 15 Full crew, racing start
2018 Borden Cup Results
Smith Cup* Sun, July 29 Double handed, cruising start
2018 Smith Cup Results
Commodore’s Cup* Sun, Sept 16 Full crew, cruising start, Cruiser’s Division, followed by raft-up

Rosenberg Trophy: Will be awarded at the discretion of the Race Management Committee (RMC)

*2018 McCartney Trophy: Will be awarded to the NSYC boat with the best racing record in the four Club races designated for this race Series, with one throw-out.  The four Club races designated for this Series will include the Borden Cup, Epstein Cup, Smith Cup & the Commodore’s Cup.

To be scored, a boat must be primarily helmed during the race by a regular skipper, co-skipper, or a combination of regular skippers and/or co-skippers based on the Sonar Fleet 11 membership roster. 

All starts at the Worry Wart at 1330 hrs, unless otherwise noted.

Race Committee for Club races monitors Ch. 78

All club races open to North Shore Yacht Club members only except the North Shore Yacht Club Day Race and the Moonlight Regatta, which are open to any member of an organized yacht club or the Yacht Racing Association of Long Island Sound (YRALIS).



  • The nominal start will be governed by the standard 5 minute starting sequence of warning, preparation and start, with the usual flags and sounds marking the sequence.
  • Each boat racing (there may be multiple divisions for scoring and course) must start within the next 5 minute Starting Window following the first starting sequence.
  • Each boat’s individual Start time and Finish time will be used to determine its elapsed time for its course.
  • Boats not Starting within the next 5 minute Starting Window (as indicated above) will be scored as Did Not Start (DNS).

Contact Race Committee Management

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.